1st – 3rd – Cost of Living, Goldcorp Stage, BMO Theatre Centre; presented by Arts Club in partnership with Citadel Theatre; award-winning play about relationships and living with physical disabilities; artsclub.com

1st – 10th – Heart of the City Festival: several venues; over 100 events; heartofthecityfestival.com

1st – 24th – Chutzpah Festival; various venues; comedy, music & film, dance, theatre; chutzpahfestival.com

1st – Dec. 15th – Luzia: Cirque du Soleil, Under the Big top, Concord Pacific Plaza; cirquedusoleil.com/luzia

7th – 11th – Circle Craft Fair, Vancouver Convention Centre West; more than 300 artisans; circlecraft.net

7th – 16th – Certified, The Cultch; certified insane person and comedian Jan Derbyshire; tourchstonetheatre.com

7th – 17th – Escaped Alone, PAL Studio Theatre, tea and catastrophe; westerngold.org

7th – 17th – Kuroko; The Cultch; presented by Vancouver Asian Canadian Theatre; thecultch.com

7th – 23rd – Timothy Findley’s The Wars, Frederic Wood Theatre, UBC; theatrefilm.ubc.ca

7th – Jan. 5th – The Sound of Music, Stanley Theatre, Arts Club; artsclub.com

8th – Dec. 1st – The Price, Jericho Arts Centre; unitedplayers.com

9th – The Art of the Impossible: A Life in Publishing, Dr. Scott McIntyre, founding publisher of Douglas & McIntyre; The Vancouver Institute, Free Saturday Evening Lectures at UBC, Instructional Resources Centre, 8:15 pm; http://vancouverinstitute.ca

11th – 17th – Jake’s Gift, Presentation House, North Vancouver; multi-award winning drama about a young girl and an old vet; phtheatre.org

12th -17th – Waitress, Queen Elizabeth Theatre; Broadway musical; WaitressTheMusicalTour.com

14th -17th – Eastside Culture Crawl; more than 500 artists studios in 80 buildings throughout the eastside; culturecrqwl.ca

14th – 17th – Christmas at Hycroft, Hycroft Manor, 1489 McRae Street; christmasathycroft.com

14th – 23rd – The Double Axe Murders; Gateway Theatre, Studio B, Richmond, gatewaytheatre.com

14th – Dec. 1st – Anon(ymous), Studio 58, Langara College; imaginative retelling of Homer’s epic poem; ticketstonight.ca

16th – Right-Wing vs Left-Wing Populism: Lessons from Venezuela & the United States, Dr. Javier Corrales, Amherst College; The Vancouver Institute, Free Saturday Evening Lectures at UBC, Instructional Resources Centre, 8:15 pm; http://vancouverinstitute.ca

21st – Dec. 22nd – It’s A Wonderful Christmas-ish Holiday Miracle, Goldcorp Stage at the BMO Theatre Centre, Arts Club; Canadian comedy about a family during a complicated season; artsclub.com

22nd – 24th – Pippin, PAL Studio Theatre; presented by UBC – Musical Theatre Troupe; palstudiotheatre.com

23rd – The Society of Crows, Dr. Robert Butler, SFU; The Vancouver Institute, Free Saturday Evening Lectures at UBC, Instructional Resources Centre, 8:15 pm; http://vancouverinstitute.ca

29th – Dec. 21st – A Christmas Carol, Pacific Theatre; adapted by Ron Reed; tickets@pacifictheatre.org

30th – Gertrude Bell in Focus: Exploring and Photographing the Middle East, Past & Present, Dr. Lisa Cooper, UBC; The Vancouver Institute, Free Saturday Evening Lectures at UBC, Instructional Resources Centre, 8:15 pm; http://vancouverinstitute.ca